ALLEN RACKS

So Simple, Go Ride!

Allen Sports is one of the world’s leading bicycle carrying racks and offers a great range to suit the Australian Market. Choosing a bike rack may not be rocket science—but inventing them, well, that’s another story.

In 1967, after a few years of working on the aerospace technology for the Apollo missions that launched the U.S. and world to the moon, Dick Allen was out of a job. Government cutbacks led Allen, a Harvard-trained physicist, to transform his garage hobby into a brand-new industry.

A cycling enthusiast, inventor, and family man, Allen had a personal need for a bike-carrying device. On weekends, he would take his sons and wife to Cape Cod or the White Mountains of New Hampshire. What proved difficult time and again was the transport of his family’s bicycles. Rather than fight through inconvenience with twine and a dinged car, Allen sought an answer for himself as well as a market in which he foresaw major growth possibilities.

Always a pathfinder, Allen took to work in his Lincoln, Massachusetts garage in search of a more efficient way to transport bikes. Drafting designs during the day and constructing them throughout the night, he put together a model made of electrical conduit, metal strapping, and fire hose casings (for padding). At first, the Allens tested the prototype on weekend excursions. Finding the first trunk-mounted rack to be a success, Dick started Allen Bike Racks. Dealer acceptance came on quickly, and by 1971 Allen Bike Racks were sold nationally through a number of major bicycle distributors.

Over the years, the company has been issued numerous patents for its innovative ideas, and it continues to offer a versatile product line in a market that grosses over $100 million annually.

Allen Racks continues its benchmark tradition of innovation, service, and quality.

 

Allen Racks Australian Dealers

NSW | NT | QLD | SA | TAS | VIC | WA

NSW

99 Bikes Artarmon
382-386 Pacific Hwy
ARTARMON NSW 2064
Ph 02) 80191565
artarmon@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Brookvale
Ground Floor, 521 Pittwater Road
BROOKVALE NSW 2100
Ph 02) 9001 4670
brookvale@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Bondi Junction
Ground Floor, 226-228 Oxford Street
BONDI JUNCTION NSW 2022
Ph 02) 8047 0999
bondi@99bikes.com.au

ABC Bikes LIVERPOOL
405 Macquarie Street
Liverpool NSW 2170
Ph 02) 9821 1372
liverpool@abcbikes.com.au 

Bicycle Garage Pty Ltd
215 Lilyfield Road
Lilyfield NSW 2040
Ph 02) 9818 3303

The Bike Shack
2/14 Haigh Avenue
Nowra NSW 2541
Ph 02) 4421 7166

The Bicycle Store
641 Parramatta Road
Leichhardt NSW 2040
Ph 02) 9509 1000

BLACKMANS PARRAMATTA
382 Church St
Parramatta NSW 2150
Ph 02) 9683 6555
info@blackmanbicycles.com.au

Cell Bikes
148 Parramatta Road
Stanmore NSW 2048
Ph 02) 9565 1899

CONCORD SPORTS STORE
44-46 Crane St
Concord NSW 2137
Ph 02) 9747 2020
concordbicycles@hotmail.com

Cycle Max
G2/109 Alexander St
Crows Nest NSW 2065
Ph 02) 9438 3320

Dee Why Bike Hub
755 Pittwater Road
Dee Why NSW 2099
Ph 02) 9971 7659

Sunrise Cycles
3 Hogan St
Ballina NSW 2478
Ph 02) 6686 6322

Ventoux Cycles
27 Park Beach Road
Coffs Harbour NSW 2450
Ph 02) 6651 3355

Wagga Cycle Centre
119 Fitzmaurice St
Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
Ph 02) 6921 4536

Woolys Wheels
82 Oxford St
Paddington NSW 2021
Ph 02) 9331 2671

VIC

Mountain Bikes Direct
Shipping Australia Wide
sales@mountainbikesdirect.com.au

99 Bikes Port Melbourne
276-278 Bay St
PORT MELBOURNE VIC 3207
Ph 03) 8680 2939
portmelbourne@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Fitzroy North
1 Queens Pde
CLIFTON HILL VIC 3068
Ph 03) 9097 2360
fitzroy@99bikes.com.au

Angry Butcher
Shop 3, 78-84 Horne St
Sunbury VIC 3429
Ph 03) 8746 8500
info@theangrybutcher.com.au

Bicycle Centre Carnegie
1034 Dandenong Rd
Carnegie VIC 3163
Ph 03) 9571 8100
Carnegie@bicycle-centre.com.au

Bicycle Centre Fitzroy
271 Smith St
Fitzroy VIC 3065
Ph 03) 9078 9032
fitzroy@bicycle-centre.com.au

Bicycle Centre South Morang
11-12/2 Murdoch Road
South Morang VIC 3752
SouthMorang@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

Flemington Cycles
450 Racecourse Road
Flemington VIC 3031
Ph 03) 9376 9933

Melbourne Bikes - Clifton Hill
37 Queens Pde
Clifton Hill VIC 3069
Ph 03) 9489 5569

Push Bike Shop Pakenham
1/206 Princes Hjwy
Pakenham VIC 3810
Ph 03) 5940 2299

Yarra Valley Cycles
108 Main St
Lilydale VIC 3140
Ph 03) 9735 1483

Bayswater Cycles
687 Mountain Highway
Bayswater VIC 3153
Ph 03) 9720 8491
sales@cyclelink.com.au

Bicycle Centre Bendigo
66 Queen Street
Bendigo VIC 3550
Ph 03) 5443 2224
bendigo@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

NT

Bicycle Centre Alice Springs
Unit 2/30 Stuart Highway
Alice Springs NT 870
Ph 08) 8953 7297
AliceSprings@bicycle-centre.com.au

WA

Bicycle Centre Midland
2/186 Great Eastern Hwy
Midland WA 6056
Ph 08)9274 8548
Midland@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

Bicycle Centre Morley
2/154 Russell Street
Morley WA 6062
Ph 08) 9370 2616
morley@bicyclecentre.com.au

Bike Force Balcatta
2/52 Erindale Road
Balcatta WA 6021
Ph 08) 9240 6448
Balcatta@bikeforce.com.au

Bike Force Ellenbrook
Unit 2, 21 The Broadway
Ellenbrook WA 6069
Ph 08) 9297 4785
ellenbrook@bikeforce.com.au

Bicycle Centre Cannington
CANNINGTON HOMETOWN
4/1500 Albany Highway
Cannington WA 6107
Ph 08) 9350 6692
Cannington@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

Bike Force Clarkson
4/70 Pensacola Terrace
Clarkson WA 6030
Ph 08) 9407 8844
clarkson@bikeforce.com.au

Bike Force Woodvale
Woodvale Boulevard News
923 Whitfords Avenue
Woodvale WA 6026
Ph 08) 9309 5767
Woodvale@bikeforce.com.au

Bike Force Success
7/676 Beeliar Drive
Success WA 6061
Ph 08) 9499 4900
success@bikeforce.com.au

Glen Parker Cycles
125 Stirling Hwy
Nedlands WA 6009
Ph 08) 9386 6408

Mercer Cycles International
97 South Tce
Fremantle WA 6160
Ph 08) 9335 9536

TAS

Ride Bellerive
96 Clarence St
Bellerive TAS 7108
Ph 03) 5144 8222

SA

Bicycle Centre Mitcham
21 Belair Road
Kingswood SA 5062
Ph 08) 8271 0692
Mitcham@Bicycle-centre.com.au

Standish Cycles Hyde Park
Shop 1, 290 Unley Road
Hyde Park SA 5061
Ph 08) 8271 6989

QLD

Pushy's Online

99 Bikes Newmarket
99 Enoggera Road
NEWMARKET QLD 4051
Ph 07) 3856 4999
newmarket@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Underwood
2930 Logan Rd
UNDERWOOD QLD 4119
Ph 07) 3341 7444
underwood@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Chermside
670 Gympie Road
CHERMSIDE QLD 4032
Ph 07) 3350 4399
chermside@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Fortitude Valley
592 Wickham Street
FORTITUDE VALLEY QLD 4006
Ph 07) 3257 4994
thevalley@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Browns Plains
2/2 Central Court
HILLCREST QLD 4118
Ph 07) 3809 0222
brownsplains@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Southport
74 Marine Parade
SOUTHPORT QLD 4215
Ph 07) 5630 0299
southport@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Kawana
15/10 Capital Place
BIRTINYA QLD 4575
Ph 07) 5314 2500
kawana@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Macgregor
1/579 Kessels Road
MACGREGOR QLD 4109
Ph 07) 3181 5974
macgregor@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Ipswich
19 East Street
IPSWICH QLD 4305
Ph 07) 3152 2999
ipswich@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Capalaba
Shop A, 1 Moreton Bay Road
CAPALABA QLD 4157
Ph 07) 3156 2499
capalaba@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Burleigh
Unit 6, Lot 110 Kortum Drive
BURLEIGH HEADS QLD 4220
Ph 07) 5658 5199
burleigh@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Indooroopilly
Shop 7, 366 Moggill Road
INDOOROOPILLY QLD 4068
Ph 07) 3198 0511
indooroopilly@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes North Lakes
Shop 1, 4-8 Burke Cresent
NORTH LAKES QLD 4509
Ph 07) 3087 0010
northlakes@99bikes.com.au

99 Bikes Cannon Hill
1/937 Wynnum Road
Cannon Hill QLD 4170
Ph 07) 3815 5499
cannonhill@99bikes.com.au

Bicycle Centre Caloundra
1 Park Place
Caloundra QLD 4551
Ph 07) 5499 6511
Caloundra@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

Topline Cycles Nerang
19 Price St
Nerang QLD 4211
Ph 07) 5511 2067
toplinecycles@gmail.com

Bicycle Central Hyde Park
Shop 1, Hyde Park Centre, Woolcock St
Hyde Park QLD 4812
Ph 07) 4772 2929
HydePark@bicycle-central.com.au

Bicycle Centre Maroochydore
Shop 4, 77-79 Wises Rd
Maroochydore QLD 4558
Ph 07) 5443 7442
Maroochydore@Bicycle-Centre.com.au

Bicycle Central on Mulgrave
506 Mulgrave Road
Cairns QLD 4870
Ph 07) 4054 3419
onmulgrave@bicycle-central.com.au

Chain Gang
24/500 Seventeen Miles Rocks
Seventeen Mile Rocks QLD 4073
Ph 07) 3715 8990